Peter Hubbard answers your questions on ITIL 4.

Peter Hubbard answers your questions on ITIL 4.

With ITIL 4 fresh off the press and launching at Pink’s 23rdAnnual Conference in Las Vegas, Pink Elephant Principal Consultant Peter Hubbard answers your ITIL 4 questions. 


How has the lifecycle changed?

“Easy – the lifecycle is gone. There is no longer the service life cycle of strategy, design, transition, operation and CSI.

The thinking behind this, I believe is that a lot of companies thought stuff like availability management only showed up in the design phase because of that where it was in the lifecycle.

What that actually meant was that the people designing their processes were using availability and capacity as a one-off exercise instead of recognising it as an integral part of how any company functions.

So what they have done now is created the Service Value System. The Service Value System basically uses the value chain. The big difference between the value chain and the lifecycle is that all the processes turn up in all areas.

So you’ve got all these processes – demand, change, transition, service, value planning etc. – and the big difference is that when you say ‘where does availability show up,’ they use a heat map to show you which capability it shows up in the most across the value chain.

The idea is that it’s not a lifecycle – start, middle, and end – it’s the capability your IT department should have and the capability for availability shows up strongly here a bit over here, and a bit over here. This is trying to get you away from the idea that there is a point time exercise for each process.”

What are the processes in ITIL 4?

There are loads of new things. Right, so there is a fairly big change from ITIL v3 to ITIL 4 in that processes have been replaced with practices. I think this is a good move.

There was far too much of people thinking that all they needed to do to fix something was throw a process at it.

A process by itself is pointless. A practice is a set of organisational performances to perform work; you can’t just have a process without the tools, and support structure around them.

So to answer the question, there are three general areas of practices:

General Management practices like Architecture Management, Relationship Management, Service Management practice that includes your Asset Management, Problem Management and so on, and Technical Management Practices like software development and management.”

What is no longer a process/practice in ITIL 4?

Access management is out, Design Coordination planning and support is also out.

When I say out, I mean it no longer a named process, but it will be touched on somewhere else. Demand Management is out as well.



More FAQ on ITIL 4 Here

Book your course Here

If you have some more questions for Peter contact us here or come see us at SITS19 where Peter Hubbard will be speaking on the release of ITIL 4.


Related Articles