A quick comparison of ITIL 4 and ITIL v3

A quick comparison of ITIL 4 and ITIL v3

Things are changing quickly in the ITIL world these days. As new information is released about ITI v3 and ITIL 4, we want to ensure we help you stay up to date.

ITIL 4 was launched at Pink19 in mid-February and since then Pink has already trained close to 3,000 people worldwide in the ITIL 4 Foundation certification course!

For your reference, here is a quick comparison of the main components/facts about the two ITIL frameworks – as of today’s date:


  • One designation – ITIL Expert


  • Two designations: ITIL Managing Professional (MP), and ITIL Strategic Leader (SL)
  • This IT service management model focuses on the delivery of services.
  • This IT service management model focuses on providing end-to-end value delivery in the digital age and brings in teachings from Agile, Lean, and DevOps.
  • Comprises a five-stage service lifecycle.
  • Centers on a new service value system(SVS).
  • Contains 26 processes and four functions explained in five core books.
  • Contains 34 practices housed within three categories and explained in six books, plus an online portal.
  • 12 certification courses – successful candidates earn a specific number of credits from each course.
  • Six certification courses. There is no credit/point scheme in ITIL 4. One course has already been released – ITIL 4 foundation. Four MP courses are scheduled to be released in late 2019. Plus, a five-day transition/bridging certification course — from ITIL v3 to the ITIL Managing Professional designation – is also scheduled to be released in late 2019. This course is only for ITIL v3 Experts or those with 17 ITIL v3 credits.
  • The Foundation course plus a combination of intermediate courses (these can be randomly selected) must total 17 credits and be followed by the successful completion of the Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) course (five credits). This totals the 22 credits that qualify successful candidates for one designation: ITIL v3 Expert.
  • The Foundation course plus all four modules in the ITIL Managing Professional (MP) stream qualify successful candidates for the ITIL Managing Professional (MP) designation. The Foundation course plus both courses in the ITIL Strategic Leader stream qualify successful candidates for the ITIL Strategic Leader (SL) designation.
  • An ITIL v3 Expert or an individual who has gained 17 ITIL v3 credits (without taking the MALC course) can successfully complete the ITIL Managing Professional Transition (bridging) module to acquire their ITIL Managing Professional (MP) designation.
  • There are two ways to get the new MP designation: 1) transition over from ITIL v3 by successfully completing the transition course, or take all the required ITIL 4 courses. There is no transition/bridging course for the SL designation.
  • The ITIL v3 courses will be retired sometime in 2020, but no date has been identified yet. The ITIL v3 exams will be offered until that time.
  • For a period, ITIL v3 and ITIL 4 courses will co-exist giving practitioners ample time to decide on next steps in their ITIL education journey. All ITIL 4 courses are being introduced throughout late 2019 and early 2020. (Stay tuned to Pink for upcoming information.)
  • The ITIL Managing Professional Transition (bridging) course will be available for a limited time only. No date has yet been identified.

Register Here

ITIL Training

Online ITIL training 

ITIL v3 Credit System

To work out how many credits you already have check the credit system diagram below.

Related Articles


We have a number of exciting opportunities to join our growing team. If you are looking for a company where career-minded professionals can achieve success while bringing their best self and qualities to work each day, Pink Elephant may be the company for you!

Find your role.